header


SCHEDULE


 

The GNSI is excited to present this year’s Visual SciComm Conference—our second virtual conference! In the first weekend, we’ll meet on Crowdcast for eight expert presentations and one panel discussion. On a second platform, Remo, we’ll have more of an opportunity to socialize and see some techniques demonstrations. In the evening, we’ll gather for after-party networking and a fun virtual auction closing.

The following weekend, we’re hosting four exciting workshops on Crowdcast.

The virtual, online format offers us a unique opportunity to gather from all over the globe. We’re thrilled to offer the conference at a rate of $75 for members and $105 for nonmembers. Workshops registration is $100 for full-day workshops and $50 for half-day workshops. See the registration page for more details. We look forward to seeing you!

TECH CHECK DAY: Thursday, July 14th at 4 pm PDT / 7 pm EDT, is an **Optional** Tech Check: This casual tech check the day before the conference will allow us to ensure you can log in smoothly and help troubleshoot if you can’t. Attendance is 100% optional. The Tech Check will be held on Crowdcast and Remo. 

Schedule

SATURDAY, JULY 17TH, 9 AM – 7 Pm PDT / 12 – 10 pm EDT

SESSION 1: SciComm for the Public Good (On Crowdcast)

  • 9:00–9:15 am PDT / 12:00–12:15 pm EDT   Welcome & Opening Remarks
  • 9:15–9:50 am PDT / 12:15–12:50 pm EDT   Galaxies & Garbage: Data Visualization: A Social Commentary (Julieta Aguilera, Ph.D., Board Member of IMERSA)
  • 9:55–10:30 am PDT / 12:55–1:30 pm EDT   Pollution to Paint: Art Connections and Possible Solutions for a More Sustainable Future (John Sabraw, Environmentalist & Activist, Ohio University)
  • 10:40–11:30 am PDT / 1:40–2:30 pm EDT   Visualizing the Unknown: Encoding Data for Impact (Dino Citraro, Co-founder and CEO of Periscopic)

BREAK

SESSION 2: Communicating Complex Topics to a Broad Audience (On Crowdcast) 

  • 12:00–12:35 pm PDT / 3:00–3:35 pm EDT   Scientific Comic Books: Sci Comm's Next Frontier (Kelly Montgomery, Co-founder of JKX Comics)
  • 12:40–1:15 pm PDT / 3:40–4:15 pm EDT   Illustrating the Invisible (Ever Salazar, MinuteEarth)
  • 1:25–2:15 pm PDT / 4:25–5:15 pm EDT   Botanical Documentation of Prairies and Woods: Project 200 (Heeyoung Kim, founder, Heeyoung Kim Botanical Art Academy)

BREAK

SESSION 3 (On Remo)

  • 4:007:00 pm PDT / 7:00–10:00 pm EDT   Technique Sharing and Networking

SUNDAY, JULY 18TH 9 AM – 6 PM PDT / 12 PM – 9 PM EDT

SESSION 4: Career Pathways in Science Communication Panel Discussion (On Crowdcast)

Panelist Introductions

  • 9:059:15 am PDT / 12:05–12:15 pm EDT   Ben Smith, Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory
  • 9:159:25 am PDT / 12:15–12:25 pm EDT   Clifford Johnson, Ph.D. and Graphic Novelist 
  • 9:259:35 am PDT / 12:25–12:35 pm EDT   Kelsa Trom, New Museum of Contemporary Art, NEW INC
  • 9:359:45 am PDT / 12:35–12:45 pm EDT   Nicolle Fuller, Sayo Studios
Panel Discussion with Live Q&A
  • 9:4510:45 am PDT / 12:45–1:45 pm EDT   All panelists

BREAK

SESSION 5: Advanced Visual Techniques (On Crowdcast)

  • 11:0011:35 am PDT / 2:00–2:35 pm EDT   Visual “Breadcrumbs” for Visual Literacy (Alice Kitterman, Scientific Illustrator, National Science Foundation)  
  • 11:40 am12:15 pm PDT / 2:40–3:15 pm EDT  3D Modeling Animal Anatomy (Mieke Roth, Science Visualizer)

BREAK

SESSION 6: Networking Social (On Remo)

  • 3:006:00 pm PDT / 6:00–9:00 pm EDT 

SATURDAY JULY 24TH

WORKSHOPS (On Crowdcast)

  • 6:00–10:00 am PDT / 9:00 am–1:00 pm EDT   Intro to ZBrush (Brandon Holt, Research Illustrator, St. George's University)
  • 10:30 am2:30 pm PDT / 1:30–5:30 EDT   Illustrator's Guide to Grants: Workshop Edition (Amanda DeGrace, Amapola Studio)

SUNDAY JULY 25TH

WORKSHOPS (On Crowdcast)

  • 8:30 am–5:00 pm PDT / 11:30 am–8:00 pm EDT   Dry Media for Field Sketching (Scott Rawlins, Arcadia University)
  • 12:00–4:00 pm PDT / 3:00–7:00 pm EDT   The Business of Science Art (Mesa SchumacherMesa Studios)

Register NOW